Cheese Scones

I haven’t posted on here for a while. In fact, there hasn’t been a lot of content on my blog over the last couple of months. I have been stuck in a bit of a rut when it comes to both blogging and baking in general. I found it quite stressful to try and think of new recipes each week, and it was almost impossible to include a historical element for each one as well. So much of my time was spent worrying about what I was going to bake to include on my blog, and then trying to make sure that the recipes were as good as they could be. This meant that I wasn’t really enjoying it, and I was completely lacking motivation. And what’s the point in blogging or baking if I don’t enjoy it?

However, last week I watched the first episode of Nadiya’s British Food Adventure, a new TV series by former Great British Bake Off winner Nadiya Hussain. I loved watching Nadiya on the Bake Off and was excited that she had her own programme, eager to see whether she baked anything I could replicate in my own kitchen. In this first episode, Nadiya made some cheese scones, something I have baked countless times. But, her scones were quite different to mine. For example, she used a combination of bread flour and self-raising flour instead of plain flour, and the cheese in her scones was red Leicester rather than the cheddar or parmesan I would normally use. These differences intrigued me, so I decided to give them ago myself.

IMG_0642 (2)I altered a couple of elements, but mostly stuck to Nadiya’s recipe, and it was definitely a success. Nadiya stated that she used bread flour because it added protein to the scones. I found that it made them a bit heavier, and not surprisingly, more like a bread. Not necessarily an improvement, although definitely not worse either; just different. The red Leicester added a really good colour, although the flavour wasn’t that strong. I personally like my cheese scones to be pretty cheesy, so I think I’ll stick to either mature cheddar or parmesan in the future, although I might add a little red Leicester as well, just because it’s such a good colour!

I enjoyed baking (and eating) these scones. The recipe was nice and simple, and I would definitely recommend it. The following recipe is with my own alterations. Find Nadiya’s original recipe on the BBC Food website.

Cheese Scones

  • Servings: about 10 scones
  • Print
My take on Nadiya Hussain’s Cheese Scones from her series Nadiya’s British Food Adventure

Ingredients

  • 175g self-raising flour
  • 50g bread flour
  • 55g butter
  • 30g red Leicester cheese, grated + a little extra for sprinkling on the top
  • 150ml milk

Method

  • Pre-heat the oven to 220c and grease a baking tray
  • Rub together the flours and butter until it resembles breadcrumbs
  • Stir in the grated cheese
  • Make a well in the centre and pour in the milk little by little until the mixture forms into a dough
  • Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and use your palm to press the dough to the thickness of about 2cm
  • Use a 5cm cutter to cut out the scones and place on the baking tray
  • Brush the top of the scones with any leftover milk and sprinkle the extra cheese on top
  • Bake for about 12-15 minutes until golden brown
  • Leave to cool on a wire rack

Storage: store in airtight container for 3-4 days

8 thoughts on “Cheese Scones

  1. Welcome back! Your cheese scones look delicious! Glad you found some baking inspiration and came back. My blog has been on hiatus as well, due to moving into a new house, but I’ll be back on this Sunday with a baking recipe, as well. Stay tuned and again, glad to see you baking and blogging again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

