Ginger and Cranberry Chocolate Gift (Chocolate Bark)

I made this ginger and cranberry chocolate as a birthday gift for my mother a couple of weeks ago. This ‘chocolate bark’ is incredibly versatile and easy to make, and makes a delicious gift or treat.aviary-photo_131294832006921214It’s always lovely to be able to give somebody a homemade gift. I decided to make my mum something chocolatey for her birthday and I wanted it to be a surprise. But, since she’s nearly always in the house, it had to be something I could do quickly in the brief time that she was out. Inspired by photos I’d seen online of chocolate bark, I decided to create my own. The hardest part was that it has to set in the fridge, and I had to make sure she didn’t look in there for a couple of hours! Luckily she didn’t notice it, and I smuggled it upstairs to my room to break up and place in a cellophane gift bag ready to give to her on her birthday.

Chocolate bark is basically just a sheet of melted chocolate decorated with various toppings and flavours that is then broken into shards. You don’t really need a recipe to make it, as you can use any type of chocolate and add anything you like to it. As mine was a gift for my mother, I used ingredients that I knew she would like: I added ground ginger to melted dark chocolate and sprinkled dried cranberries over the top.

This ginger and cranberry chocolate bark makes a delicious homemade gift. Why not give it a go?

A Ginger and Cranberry Chocolate gift (Chocolate Bark)

Ingredients

  •  150g dark chocolate
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 30g dried cranberries

Method

  •  Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper. It doesn’t really matter what size, but bear in mind that the larger the tray, the thinner the chocolate will be. I used a swiss roll tin that measured 27 x 17cm
  • Break up the chocolate and place in a glass bowl. Sit the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and allow the chocolate to melt gently, stirring occasionally.  Alternatively, melt it in a microwave
  • When all the chocolate has melted, remove from the heat and stir in the ginger
  • Pour onto the baking tray and spread it out evenly
  • Sprinkle the dried cranberries over the top. Depending on the size of cranberries, you could chop them up into smaller pieces before sprinkling them
  • Place in the fridge to set for a few hours
  • When the chocolate has set, carefully break up into pieces and place in a gift bag or box
  • Storage: Store in a relatively cool place to avoid the chocolate melting. I would recommend transferring it from the gift bag/box to an airtight container so it keeps better. I should think that this chocolate would last a couple of weeks (if it doesn’t get eaten straight away!)
  • Save

    4 thoughts on “Ginger and Cranberry Chocolate Gift (Chocolate Bark)

    Leave a Reply

    