One Hundred Followers and Two Awards

Hi everyone! It’s time for another Second Servings post – a post with two parts, one of which is long overdue.

I want to start by blowing my own trumpet and saying how amazed and happy I am that I now have over 100 followers. I can’t believe that over 100 people have actively clicked on that little follow button! Thank you so much to everyone who has followed me over the first few months of my blog. It is my hope that Katie’s Time Travelling Kitchen continues to grow and improve over the coming months (and long into the future), and I am so thankful for all the support.

100-followers

Next comes the bit that I should have done ages ago.

I have been nominated for not one, but two awards! These nominations have been pending for some time and I have only just managed to get myself organised enough to actually acknowledge them properly. I’m sorry I’m so behind with these. I hope they’re still relevant… The awards I have been nominated for are The Liebster Award (nominated by Sleight Of The Hand) and the Black Cat, Blue Sea Award (nominated by What Katie Did Next). Thanks to both of these bloggers for the nominations. I was honoured to recieve this recognition from fellow bloggers. Click on the links to check out their amazing blogs!

image

The rules for the Liebster Award are:

  • Thank the blogger that nominated you.
  • Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions asked by the blogger that nominated you.
  • Nominate 5 to 11 other bloggers and let them know they’ve been nominated.
  • Come up with 11 questions for the bloggers you’re nominating.

The rules for the Black Cat, Blue Sea Award are:

Screen Shot 2016-09-03 at 14.53.58

I have tried to kind of combine both awards here, and mushed together their rules and questions. I’ve chosen three questions over both awards to answer! These are:

How or why did you start blogging?
I had been following a number of blogs (many of them food-related) for a couple of years and had for a while been toying with the idea of starting my own. I loved baking and craved a place to share some of my own recipe experiments and creations, but also wanted to include an aspect that would make my blog unique. That’s when I thought of the historical, time-travelling aspect. And, since half of my degree was in history, it seemed perfect! So I started experimenting with historical recipes, and, after a while, I took the plunge. Katie’s Time Travelling Kitchen was born!

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? I have literally no idea. I wish I had my life that planned out! Sadly, I barely know what I’m doing with my life right now, let alone in 10 years time. I just hope I will be happy and comfortable, with family and friends around me. That’s the most that anyone could wish for, right?

What is your favourite book? This is such a hard questions to answer, and I’ve been sat here for about 20 minutes trying to narrow it down to one answer. Basically, I can’t. I absolutely love reading, and I have read some brilliant books over the years. Hence, I find it almost too difficult to come up with a single favourite book. I grew up with the Harry Potter books, and they will forever have a special place in my heart, although I know many people will probably disapprove of an adult chosing a children’s book series as their favourite! Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo is another children’s book which is just fantastic. I could talk all day about books that I have loved reading (and those that are on my To Read list), and my favourites are constantly evolving but a couple of stand outs have been Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, The Great Gatsby by  F. Scott Fitzgerald, Dracula by Bram Stoker… stop me now because I could go on and on. I am currently reading The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath and I am loving that too! There are so many more that I love and haven’t mentioned. Ask me again in a few months and I will probably have a completely new set of answers! I am always open to suggestions as well; there are so many fantastic books out there that I am yet to read. Right, I need to stop answering this question now because I keep thinking of more books and it is very soon going to turn into an essay.

It was very hard to choose only a few bloggers to nominate, but I managed to narrow it down to five bloggers who I hoped hadn’t completed both awards before! These are:

You can chose to complete either or both of the awards (or neither, or course, it’s not obligatory)! I apologise if you’ve been nominated for either, or both, of them before. I’m also sorry that I’ve kind of messed it up by answering them both together (I’ve basically just made up my own thing, haven’t I? Sorry guys…). My questions for you (and I’ll try to come up with 11 of them in case you want to complete the Liebster Award) are:

  • What is your favourite film?
  • Who inspires you the most?
  • What was your dream job when you were a child?
  • What is your favourite song?
  • What has been your favourite place to visit and where would you like to visit?
  • What is one thing in the world that you would like to change?
  • What are your aspirations?
  • How would you describe yourself in 3 words?
  • What has been your favourite blog post of yours so far?
  • What are your favourite hobbies?
  • What is your favourite season and why?

Please tag me in your answers; I would love to read them.

Thank you for reading, and I apologise for the mess that I’ve left both awards in!

 

Save

Save

Save

26 thoughts on “One Hundred Followers and Two Awards

  1. Congratulations on your nomination! Very well deserved. I enjoyed reading your blog and your recipe post every week, and you have definitely inspired me to bake more because that’s an area that I don’t have a lot of skill. And thank you so much for the nomination for the Liebster! It’s the second nomination I’ve gotten for that and it’s always such a thrill and an honor to know that my fellow bloggers support me. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

